Thursday, January 24, 2008

Band biography

Nicholas Jonas: discovery and solo album (1999-2005)

The band started as a solo project of Nicholas Jonas. When Nick was 6 years old, he was discovered while singing at a barber shop and was referred to a professional show business manager.[2][3][4] At the age of 7, Nick began performing on Broadway.[5][6] He had acted in several plays, including A Christmas Carol (in 2000 as Tiny Tim and Scrooge at eight), Annie Get Your Gun (in 2001 as Little Jake), Beauty and the Beast (in 2002 as Chip), and Les Misérables (in 2003 as Gavroche).[6][7][8][9] After Les Misérables closed, he performed in The Sound of Music (as Kurt) at the Paper Mill Playhouse.[10]

In 2002 while performing in Beauty and the Beast, Nick had written a song with his father called "Joy To The World (A Christmas Prayer)." With background vocals from the Beauty and the Beast cast, Nick performed the song on the 2002 annual Broadway "Equity Fights AIDS" album, Broadway's Greatest Gifts: Carols for a Cure, Vol. 4.[11][12][13] In November 2003, INO Records received a demo copy of "Joy To The World (A Christmas Prayer)."[14] The label released the song to Christian radio, where it quickly became popular on Record & Radio's Christian Adult Contemporary Chart.[12]

"Dear God" single
"Dear God" single
"Joy to the World (A Christmas Prayer)" single
"Joy to the World (A Christmas Prayer)" single

By September 2004, an executive at Columbia Records found out about Nick's song.[11][12] Nick was soon jointly signed to INO Records and Columbia Records and released the single "Dear God."[15][16] A second single, "Joy To The World (A Christmas Prayer)" (a new solo recording), was released on November 16.[17] It was supposed to be followed by a December release of a self-titled solo album, but the album had been pushed back.[18] But did get a limited release.[19] Nick, along with Kevin and Joe, had written several other songs for the album.[11]

In early 2005, Columbia Records' new president Steve Greenberg, listened to Nick's record. While Greenberg did not like the album, he did like Nick's voice.[20] After meeting with Nick and hearing the song, "Please Be Mine," written and performed by the brothers, Daylight/Columbia Records had decided to sign the three as a group act.[11][21][22] However, on May 17, 2005, one song from the original album, "Crazy Kind of Crush on You," was released on the Darcy's Wild Life soundtrack.[23]

Track Listing of Nicholas Jonas's solo album:

  1. "Dear God" - 3:12
  2. "Time for Me to Fly" (Nick Jonas Version) - 3:31
  3. "Appreciate" - 3:08
  4. "When You Look Me In the Eyes" (First Version) - 4:01
  5. "Higher Love" - 3:54
  6. "Please Be Mine" (Nick Jonas Version) - 4:04
  7. "I Will Be the Light" - 4:16
  8. "Don't Walk Away" - 3:35
  9. "Joy to the World (A Christmas Prayer)" - 3:58
  10. "Crazy Kind of Crush On You" - 2:54
  11. "Wrong Again" - 3:55

No comments: